Town election update: Potential four-way race for town clerk seat

February 18, 2021 by Carol Britton Meyer

There's a potential four-way race for retiring Town Clerk Eileen McCracken's seat now that Thomas Patch has pulled nomination papers for that position.

There's already a confirmed three-way race for town clerk in the May 1 town election among Laura Marwill, Libby Lewiecki, and Carol Falvey. Lewiecki is currently a school committee member. If Patch returns his papers, there will be four candidates for that seat.

Nomination papers will be available through March 2 and are due back to the town clerk’s Office on Thursday, March 4, by 5 p.m., so there's still time to consider running for office.

A citizen who has taken out nomination papers becomes a candidate once he or she has returned their papers to the town clerk's office and the signatures have been certified.

There are four other potential races -- for selectman, municipal light board, board of health, and board of assessors.

Joshua Ross and incumbent Carlton M. ("Al") Chambers are both running for Chambers' board of assessors seat. Chambers returned his papers.

Health board incumbent Peter Bickford pulled papers to run for another term, while Johanna Burwell earlier took out papers for that seat.

There's also a potential light board race between incumbent John Stoddard, Jr. and Laura Burns, who returned her papers.

In addition, there's a potential four-way selectman's race among Jack Manning, Liz Klein, Michelle Larned, and Joseph Kelly for the seat currently occupied by Mary Power, who is not running for another term. Klein has returned her papers.

Dwight Hartman recently pulled nomination papers for the recreation commission seat currently held by Bruce Thompson, who has not taken out papers.

No one has yet picked up papers for the sewer commission seat currently occupied by Robert Higgins.

The following incumbents have also taken out papers:

  • Michael Puzo for another term as town moderator (papers returned).
  • Incumbent Kerry Ni and Tim Miller-Dempsey (papers returned) for school committee. Both Ni's and Lewiecki's terms expire this year.
  • Incumbent Gary Tondorf-Dick for planning board (papers returned).

Fifty certified signatures of voters registered in the Town of Hingham are required for a nomination to be valid. Candidates are advised to obtain additional signatures. The Secretary of State’s office recommends 70 signatures.

Check back for updates.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.