Hingham Town Election Preview: Nine Potential Candidates So Far

town of hingham ma town hall
Photo Courtesy of the Town of Hingham

January 31, 2023 By Carol Britton Meyer

Nine citizens have taken out nomination papers for the Saturday, April 29, Town Election so far, including six incumbents — Town Moderator Michael Puzo; Select Board Chair William Ramsey; School Committee member Jennifer Benham; Municipal Light Board member Tyler Herrald; and Recreation Commissioners Vicki Donlan and Matthew LeBretton.

In addition, Thomas Patch and Tracey Shriver have pulled papers for the Planning Board seat currently occupied by Judith Sneath, and James Byrne has taken out papers for Stephen Harold’s Sewer Commission seat.

Nomination papers are available in the Town Clerk’s Office. Potential candidates are asked to call or email ahead to schedule an appointment at (781) 741-1410. Nomination papers are due back on or before March 10. The last day to register to vote is April 14.

While 50 certified signatures of voters registered in the Town of Hingham are required to be placed on the ballot, it’s recommended that those submitting papers obtain a minimum of 75 signatures.

Those who return their completed nomination papers become official candidates once the required number of signatures are certified. Having more candidates than the number of available seats on a particular committee, commission, or board, constitutes a race.

Twelve incumbents have terms expiring in 2023, including:

  • Town Moderator (one-year term) — Michael J. Puzo
  • Select Board (three-year term) — William C. Ramsey
  • Board of Assessors (three-year term) — Randall M. Winters
  • Board of Health (three-year term) — Elizabeth A. Eldredge
  • Municipal Light Board (three-year term) — Tyler R. Herrald
  • Housing Authority (five-year term) — Ruth T. Bennett (Select Board-appointed position, so will not be on the ballot)
  • School Committee (three-year term) — Michelle Ayer; Jennifer A. Benham
  • Planning Board (five-year term) — Judith S. Sneath
  • Sewer Commission (three-year term) — Stephen G. Harold
  • Recreation Commission — Vicki Donlan (five-year term); (three-year term) — Matthew B. LeBretton (appointed to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Dwight Hartman, term ending in 2026, until the next town election).

In other news, residents are reminded to fill out the 2023 Annual Street Listing Census that was mailed to every Hingham household recently and either mail them back to the Town Clerk’s Office or place them in the drop box at the end of the Town Hall driveway (not to be confused with the drop box for Hingham Municipal Lighting Plant payments).

“We use the census information that is returned to us to provide proof of residence, protection of voting rights, veterans’ bonuses, housing for the elderly and related benefits, public safety information, and general data for projecting school enrollment and grant requests,” Falvey said.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.