Four confirmed races for upcoming Town Election; O’Reilly, Da Silva, O’Meara, and Scott not seeking re-election

Photo Courtesy of the Town of Hingham

March 14, 2022 By Carol Britton Meyer

There are four races for the 2022 Town Election -- date to be announced -- for School Committee, Board of Assessors, Board of Health, and Sewer Commission.

The deadline for submitting completed papers was Friday, March 11.

"Many citizens have called our office about the date of the upcoming Town Election," Falvey said. "We have applied to the governor for an extension of the April 30, 2022, date and are waiting for the sign-off. We will post the election date as soon as it is finalized."

The following incumbents did not pull papers for re-election: School Committee members Elizabeth (Liza) O'Reilly and Carlos A.F. Da Silva; Housing Authority member Greg O'Meara; and Recreation Commissioner Nandita S. Scott.

The four races are:

  • A four-way race for three School Committee seats among incumbent Nancy (Nes) Correnti, Alyson B. Anderson, Matthew J. Cosman, and Matthew B. LeBretton (3-year term
  • Board of Assessors (1-year term) -- incumbent Carlton A. Chambers, Randall M. Winters;
  • Board of Health (3-year term), incumbent Kirk J. Shilts, Rosemary D. Byrne;
  • Sewer Commission (3-year term) -- incumbent Kirk J. Shilts, Joseph P. Kelly.

Town Moderator Michael J. Puzo, Select Board Chair Joseph M. Fisher, Board of Assessors member Christine M. Roberts; and Planning Board member Gordon M. Carr are running for re-election unopposed.

Michael D. Reive is running unopposed for the Municipal Light Board seat earlier vacated by Roger M. Freeman, who resigned, and Michelle Larned is running unopposed for the Housing Authority seat currently held by O'Meara. Stephen P. Buckley is running unopposed for Scott's seat on the Recreation Commission.

Stay tuned for updates.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.